Dear ESAGCS Member:

The Eastern Shore Association of Golf Course Superintendents will again this year be awarding the Founders Scholarship, and the Drew Smith Memorial Endowed Scholarship. Our programs have given more than $70,000 to over 80 deserving college students over the years.

The Founders Scholarship is dedicated to those founding members of our association who had the vision to create an association based on the free exchange of knowledge and experiences in the field of golf course management, all in a relaxed and friendly way that is indicative of life here on the Eastern Shore. The Drew Smith Scholarship is in memory of Drew Smith, an ESAGCS member, who was driven by his love and passion for the game and the golf industry.

Members of your staff who are pursing a career in the turf management industry and are currently enrolled as a student at a qualifying university or college are eligible to receive these scholarships. All applicants must work for an ESAGCS member.

In order to qualify, the applicant must fill out this form completely and include the mailing address of the admissions office of the school they will be attending. Please encourage the applicants to be as thorough as possible and to include additional relevant information. They may also attach additional typewritten sheets if the space allotted on the application is not sufficient. Questions may be directed to me at 412/977-3882 or to the ESAGCS office at 410/548-1599.

Applications are due by Friday, October 25, 2013 and the scholarships will be awarded on November 7th at our Turf Conference at the Hyatt Resort in Cambridge, MD.

We look forward to receiving several applications and urge you to encourage your staff to continue their education and pursue a career in the golf course turfgrass industry.

Eric Snelsire, CGCS
2013 Scholarship Chairman

Download Applications Past Recipients